Workshop in Philosophy, Politics and Economics

______________________________________________________________

Workshop sessions will be in 318 Enterprise Hall from 2:00-3:30pm unless otherwise noted

 

DATE

PRESENTER

TOPIC

Thursday, January 24

 

Casey Mulligan

Economics

University of Chicago

 

 

The Redistribution Recession

 

Thursday, January 31

 

Mark Koyama

Economics

George Mason University


Persecutions and Pogroms

 

(email eceller@gmu.edu to request a copy of this paper)

 

Thursday, February 7

Mason Inn

4:00pm-5:45pm


 

Kirzner Event

 

Kirzner Event

Thursday, February 14

 

Andy Morriss

School of Law

University of Alabama

 

Creating Cayman as an Offshore Financial Center: Structure & Strategy since 1960

 

(email eceller@gmu.edu to request a copy of this paper)

Friday, February 22

11:00am-12:30pm

 

Bart Wilson

Economics

Chapman University

Economic Science Institute

Sentiments, Conduct, and Trust in the Laboratory

Thursday, February 28

 

Kevin Vallier

Philosophy

Bowling Green State University

 

Public Reason and Public Choice: A Synthesis 

 

Thursday, March 7


NO PPE

NO PPE

 

Thursday, March 14


NO PPE

NO PPE

Wednesday, March 20

 

Zoltan Acs

Public Policy

George Mason University

 

Book Discussion:

Why Philanthropy Matters

Thursday, March 28

David Sanz Bas

Economics

Universidad Católica de Ávila

Hayek’s Critique of the General Theory

Thursday, April 4

George Selgin

Economics

University of Georgia

Quasi-Commodity Money

Tuesday, April 9

 

Francesco di Iorio

Economics

Duke University


Is Methodological Individualism a Reductionist Approach?

 

Thursday, April 18

NO PPE

NO PPE

 

Tuesday, April 23

 

 

Fred Miller 

Philosophy

Bowling Green State University


Aristotle and Business: Friend or Foe?

 

Thursday, May 2

Arlington

Founders Hall

4:00pm-5:30pm

 

 

James Robinson

Economics

Harvard University

 

Why Nations Fail

 

Thursday, May 9

Johnson Center Cinema

 

Chris Coyne

Economics

George Mason University

Book Discussion:

Doing Bad by Doing Good